Protest or purpose? What did God make Christians for?


So what are Christians for?

I don’t mean what are they for, as in “What are mosquitoes for anyway?” (If I had to pick an answer that from the Bible, I’d say: “To train my hands for war”!)

No, what I mean is: what are Christians in favor of? Because everyone has a pretty good idea what Christians are against.

My husband and I went to a big music festival recently and there at the gate was a guy with his five-foot cross and placard proclaiming, “Stop! homosexuality, fornication, abortion, adultery …” You can probably guess a lot of the rest.

Figuring out what Christians are for is a little challenging even for Christians sometimes. According to a Barna poll I read, Christians are pretty sure what God wants them not to do, but aren’t all that certain whether they’re heading in the right direction on a day-to-day basis.

I’d guess that’s probably because God sets very specific boundaries in the Bible around behaviors we should avoid, but beyond that, just challenges us with very difficult goals.

“Love your neighbor as yourself.” People who follow God have been trying to wiggle around that one for as long as it’s been on the record. “Who is my neighbor?” one of them asked Jesus. And Jesus told the man that a person from the race he despised the most was his neighbor.

Over the next months in this blog, we’ll be conversing about some of those challenging goals and how we attempt to represent Christ in the world as we reach toward them

In the words of the Apostle Paul: “ …straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal …” (Phil. 3: 13, 14)

God made Christians for: Moving forward

Copyright © 2009 – 2014 Carlene Hill Byron

How has God directed you on toward the goal lately?

Copyright © 2009 – 2014 Carlene Hill Byron

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in Bible, Carlene Byron, christian, christianity, God's work, personal change and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.