“You’ll shoot your eye out, kid”


1938 Red Ryder BB Gun adRalphie never really did shoot his eye out with the Red Ryder BB gun he so desperately wanted from Santa in the movie A Christmas Story. (I didn’t have any trouble when I learned to shoot, either!)

We all have heard warnings and advice that we have relegated to the circular file of “Grandma’s sweet-but-outdated ideas.” Things like:

  • An apple a day keeps the doctor away.
  • Sleep at least 8 hours a night
  • Don’t chew ice. You’ll break your teeth, honey.

The funny thing is, over time, science seems to catch up with Grandma. So now we know that:

  • Eating apples and other high fiber foods is very healthy.
  • People who think they can get by on 6 hours are usually really good sleepwalkers.

and, according to what my dentist told me this week …

  • Because I chew ice, I broke my tooth.

“Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.” (Proverbs 1:8)

 God made Christians for: Learning from those who went before us.

What oldie but goodie has turned out to be good advice in your life? Any advice you ignored and regretted?

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in Carlene Byron, christianity, God's work, life, personal change and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid”

  1. Kathy Lovin says:

    Love it! Grandma knew a thing or two, didn’t she? Most of her great advice came from living and studying her Bible. Looking back, she was rarely wrong about anything!

    • Woohoo! I didn’t get what I deserved! My wonderful dentist was able to grind the cracked portion off and give me a filling instead of yanking the tooth.

      No more ice cracker sweets for me!

Comments are closed.