Norman Rockwell, the Buddhist illustrator?


"Freedom of Speech"

Image via Wikipedia

We spent a wonderful couple of hours at a Norman Rockwell exhibit today. We all have seen so much of his work over the years that really I don’t have to comment a lot about the art … you have your opinion already, either for, against, or snarky.

So instead of commenting on the art, I’ll comment on a Rockwell collector’s comment about the art. George Lucas, whose personal collection of Rockwell is currently on display at The Smithsonian American Art Museum, says of Rockwell that the compassion displayed in his art makes him seem like a Buddhist.

What a sad statement about all of the Christians George Lucas has ever met.

Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. (Eph. 4:2)

Does Christianity deserve to have lost its reputation for compassion?

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Norman Rockwell, the Buddhist illustrator?

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog.

    Well, I now know who George Lucas is, I thought he might be a preacher!(You may laugh at that).He may be praising Buddhists because of their adherance to peace and non-resistance to those who do us harm, something Christians have forgotten.

Comments are closed.