Umbrellas of love


an umbrella that no ready for use

Image via Wikipedia

You ever find yourself rushing out the door on a morning when you know rain has been forecast but you’re running way too fast to remember to grab your umbrella?

And then, wherever you are, you find yourself marooned, a deluge away from your car.

Today, I learned that the usher team at our church has gigantic umbrellas. And they walk you to your car if you forgot yours.

That’s practical Christian love. Thanks, guys, gals, and even kids (because they had to recruit some extra help today!).

“Love covers a multitude of sins” … including bad planning on a day we all knew would be rainy.

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in Carlene Byron, faith, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Umbrellas of love

  1. Hi Carlene.

    This is an absolutely fantastic idea. It shows that your church loves people in the little things, as well as the big things.

    Also, wanted to thank you for your kind words over in Jon Acuffs space. Then, just for kicks, more thanks for your own words here. I’ll be adding this blog to my ‘to-read’ list.

    Michael.

Comments are closed.