If God cares for birds, why do Christians worry?


Fox Sparrow

God’s eye is on the sparrow, and His sparrow was watching me … and pestering me to no end!

Today I was trying to leave church and a fox sparrow was jumping all over my windshield. I’d never seen such a thing. At first I thought it was finding seed among a few dry leaves caught behind my windshield wipers. But it wasn’t. It was hopping every which way, except off my windshield.

“What’s up, buddy?” I asked, somewhat rhetorically, I suppose. Most people don’t make a habit of talking to animals.

Like most birds, he didn’t answer, unless you considered his increasingly frenzied hops up and down and across my windshield an answer.

I stepped out of the car to make sure he was uninjured. He hopped up into a nearby tree; then, once I closed myself back into my car, dropped back onto the windshield to hop back and forth energetically.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never seen a bird do that before, so I had to ask myself what was going on. And having just come from church, my mind did turn immediately to scripture:

“Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God.” (Luke 12)

It seemed like my little sparrow was trying to remind me, as vigorously as he could:

“Hey, you! God’s got it covered! All of it! Enjoy the rest of the day, OK?”

He jumped off my car to the ground and disappeared.

“Hey, you! All of you! God’s got it covered! All of it! Enjoy the week, OK?”

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in Bible, Carlene Byron, christianity, discipleship, faith, God, God's promises. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If God cares for birds, why do Christians worry?

  1. Love this post, Carlene. The Lord speaks to me through nature all the time and most often inspires me through birds! I am blessed to live in a quiet area where there are lovely trees and not noisy city life, so I am awakened each morning to their joyful praise!

    • I was just so taken aback by this little guy’s odd behavior. He obviously had something to say … so insistent! I had to go straight to the bird book when I got home to make quite sure he was a sparrow, not a wren. Yup. Message received.

Comments are closed.