Are Christians Good Employees? Saturday in the City


Managers may sympathize with this Christian business owner who finally decided to employ as few Christians as possible:

“They think their ‘real’ job is to evangelize their co-workers, not to make my business successful. They’re never working. And they think since I’m a Christian, I should understand.”

How differently those employees think than teachers like John Wesley, who urged his followers to make every minute of their day profitable for their employer. Scripture, too, seems to offer a different perspective:

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,  since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” (Colossians 3: 23-24)

Does serving God and serving your employer feel like a conflict for you? How?

About Carlene Byron

Writer, editor, publicist, communications project manager ... I've written technology and infrastructure; I used to edit New England Church Life and The New England Christian and I've freelanced to publications ranging from Commonweal to Christianity Today. I'm now living in my hometown in Maine and am speaking about global perspectives on suicide prevention.
This entry was posted in Carlene Byron, christian, christianity, discipleship, faith, faith at work, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.