Listening for God’s Voice in the Arts


This weekend I grabbed three books pretty much at random from the city library’s fiction shelves in the 5 minutes before it closed. The one that I started first (which turned out to be a Christian woman’s novel) “happened” to describe a situation very like my own. In a devotional included in the plot we learned the meanings of the women’s names … the lead character’s name meant the same as mine. Was God using this novel to preach into my current situation? I have to think so.

When I read Scripture, I can tell the difference between the pages God wrote through Paul and those God wrote through Luke. That’s not a bad thing. God had a reason for choosing each of them to share those specific words.

I think God also has reasons for letting novelists, poets, preachers, theologians and even sometimes painters, sculptors, and architects share what needs to be said today. We just need to be trained to discern God’s voice. Reading Scripture is one important way to know God’s voice. Becoming familiar with the way God sounds when speaking through others is also important.

About Carlene Hill Byron

The former editor of New England Church Life and The New England Christian, Carlene Hill Byron is enjoying being home in Maine after 20 years in North Carolina. She is a member of the Redbud Writers Guild. Find her at christianpurposeblog.wordpress.com, churchandmentalillness.wordpress.com and on Facebook at MyHouseHasHistory.
This entry was posted in Carlene Byron. Bookmark the permalink.