What Were Candidate’s Staff Doing for 3 Hours in Courthouse?


You’ve been following the story. So I’m just going to throw out the headlines and my questions. You can pop over to USA Today to see the questions the local police have.

  1. Closely contested Senate primary in Mississippi pits Tea Party-backed challenger Chris McDaniel against six-term Republican Sen. Thad Cochran.
  2. Really, really, really close vote. There’s going to have to be a runoff.
  3. Oopsie. Three of challenger McDaniel’s staff were in the courthouse for several hours after the ballots were counted, not leaving until about 3:45 a.m. What were they doing?
  4. Those campaign staff were:
  • Scott Brewster, McDaniel’s campaign coalition coordinator
  • Janis Lane, Central Mississippi Tea Party
  • Rob Chambers, consultant with the Mississippi Baptist Christian Action Commission

The McDaniel campaign says the staff were accidentally locked into the building after ballot counting ended at 11:45 p.m. Here’s what USA Today has to say: Probe Launched after Lock-in on Vote Night in Mississippi

God teaches us that matters are to be thoroughly investigated before coming to judgment, and the local police has begun that thorough investigation. I have no responsibility in this matter; you probably don’t either. At the same time, we can test our own hearts by asking:

What would I do if I had worked hard on an election, didn’t win, then found myself locked into a county courthouse with the election ballots? 

Would I call for someone to let me out?

Could I find three hours worth of ‘something to do’ in the courthouse before I called for help?

What would I do for three hours?

About Carlene Hill Byron

The former editor of New England Church Life and The New England Christian, Carlene Hill Byron is enjoying being home in Maine after 20 years in North Carolina. She is a member of the Redbud Writers Guild. Find her at christianpurposeblog.wordpress.com, churchandmentalillness.wordpress.com and on Facebook at MyHouseHasHistory.
This entry was posted in Carlene Byron, faith and politics, law, leadership, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.