Memories to Touch: The Ornaments We Created


Reader Sue Damm, who lives near the border of Maine and Quebec, sent this reflection from her journal after reading the piece about Auntie’s Christmas ornaments.

Some of the ornaments on my Christmas tree are so precious to me that I think they might be the first things I’d grab if the house were on fire. Why do I care so much about my Christmas ornaments? Because I lovingly created them myself. Each stitch, whether crewel or needlepoint, knit, crochet or sewing … each little stitch was carefully placed. Even though I was following someone else’s pattern, I put so much effort into each one that each one became special.

In the Bible, the Psalmist wonders why people matter to God:

“O Lord, what are human beings that you should notice them, mere mortals that you should think about them? For they are like a breath of air; their days are like a passing shadow …” Psalms 144: 3-4

What a good question! Why should God care about me?  About any of us?

The Psalmist answers again:

…you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” Psalms 139: 13-14

God loves me for the almost same reason I love my Christmas ornaments. He loves me because He created me. And unlike my ornaments, made to a pattern, everything about me is by His unique design. I am His creation. And just as I’m pretty sure I’d rescue those ornaments if our home were in danger, God has already rescued me from the power of evil and darkness.

As we celebrate this season of joy and light, remember that you are even more precious to God than anything you have created might be to you.

 

About Carlene Hill Byron

The former editor of New England Church Life and The New England Christian, Carlene Hill Byron is enjoying being home in Maine after 20 years in North Carolina. She is a member of the Redbud Writers Guild. Find her at christianpurposeblog.wordpress.com, churchandmentalillness.wordpress.com and on Facebook at MyHouseHasHistory.
This entry was posted in art, Christmas, creation, holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.